Entry 8: Gun Control and Some More Stupidity

After a long wait I’ve finally found my way back to my keyboard! Yay!! *miserable grumblings from the crowd* Ok since I’m not taking classes during the summer I will have much more time to write and much more time to post. So I will finally be able to stick to my original time table. Mini-Rant Monday’s, Regular entries on Wednesday and probably some more upbeat or light weight posts Friday or Saturday. Friday and Saturday might not be every week but we’ll see. Ok enough of the update, on to what you came for!

As a continuation of my Monday rant, which you should check out, I’ve decided to tackle gun control. Let’s see, yes guns and ammunition sales should be restricted, no they shouldn’t be completely banned, (which no one is trying to do, but we’ll get to that soon) no I don’t want to put a fully automatic assault rifle in the hands of any random person, yes I think people should be allowed to have as many rounds in their magazine as they want. As far as I know the legislation that’s being tossed around is to require more in-depth background searches in order to own firearms. That I’m in favor of, no problem at all. The fact that we don’t have strict enough background checks already astonishes me. Now, onto the whole banning guns thing. To my knowledge there is no legislation being discussed that would entirely ban firearms. Yet. Every hunter/sporstman/outdoor enthusiast and dare I say redneck will argue that it’s background checks today. Tomorrow it will be magazine size and by Friday the FBI will be knocking down my door to seize everything that uses gunpowder, including that dynamte you made on Minecraft last night. If you don’t understand that reference, don’t worry about it. This is what us Philosophy majors like to call a “slippery slope argument.” The same argument is commonly used to oppose gay marriage but we’ll save that topic for another day. Or never. Now for an easy representation. A, b, c, d, e, f, g, h, i, j, k, lmnop, q, r, s, t, u, v, w, x, y, and z. You see that little blurb in the middle without comma’s? that is a slippery slope. Now the problem is discovering which letter background checks are. The A? The G? or the K? I don’t know. I doubt there’s any single person who knows. Just my two cents but I’d like to believe that people are smart enough to think about what they’re saying before spouting off nonsense about “the man” coming to take their weapons. Which brings me to my next point. Stupidity!

Alright before you object, I know I’ve talked about this before but apparently it’s so prevalent that it just never ceases to exist or show its ugly head every opportunity it has. This time I’m not talking about specific cases, just stupidity in general. I’ll use one age old case I’m sure you’ve all heard of. A woman spills coffee on herself, gets burned because it’s hot, sues McDonalds, and wins. Seriously? Ok apparently it was “hotter than it should have been.” Did they put lava in your cup? And how would anyone know how hot it was? “Ouch I just burnt my arm because I spilled my coffee on my arm because I’m a clumsy idiot! Better check what temperature it is!! LOL!!” Sounds like a bad Instagram post. Next, who spills coffee on themselves as an adult? What adult spills in the first place? Did you forget to check that habit at age 7? Ok I’m not saying I’ve never spilled anything as an “adult” (I’m still a kid at heart, always will be) but in public? “But Grant! Maybe somebody bumped her!” Ok, did she sue that person as well? “Maybe they didn’t put the lid on tight!” Did she sue the person behind the counter? Believe me, stupidity doesn’t exist on a small scale. Just look around, you can probably spot an idiot or two. I just did and unfortunately all I can see is a mirror. Yes believe it or not even I am capable of acts of stupidity. Shocking, I know.

Guns and stupidity. A winning combination right? Nothing bad ever happens when you combine those two! Might as well throw in some alcohol and discover a cure for cancer. Oh well, I suppose all a guy can do is whine to the internet community and see who listens. Like I said in the beginning tune in on Monday’s and Wednesday’s and probably Friday’s. Take time outta your day to check up on my little pet project and I’ll return the favor. Happy Wednesday everybody!

Leave a Reply

