Monday Mini-Rant: Kids With Swag

It’s Monday so you know what that means! Another paragraph I’m going to ask my readers to trudge through, please? I had a couple of lackluster ideas for this week so I decided to hit up the news sites for some inspiration. Here is the article that inspired me this week. http://www.cnn.com/2013/08/01/living/parents-kids-high-fashion/index.html?hpt=hp_bn11 Ok, first off let me express my hatred of the terms “yolo” and “swag” to begin with, they should not exist. Now I’ve talked about stupid parents before, remember the adolescent sex changes? This isn’t quite as bad. I’ve heard of parents living vicariously through their children but COME ON! Dressing your kids “swagalisciously” might be one of the dumbest things I’ve ever heard of, Kids should be in shorts and t-shirts, not in clothes like this.

Tara Thackeray took this photo of the quintessential kid with swagger -- even wearing a "swag" T-shirt.A snapshot from 2010 captures a pose and a look.Krista Njapa from "The Momtographers" sent this photo to "Planet Awesome Kid" in April 2011.

Kids dressing like this at my school would have gotten beat up on a daily basis and quite frankly, I probably wouldn’t have stopped them. Granted, these kids are from Brooklyn and not rural Minnesota but come on? Do people really dress their kids like this? Thank God I live in the country where stupidity is only present 50% of the time and not running rampant through all age ranges. I for one hope that this trend of “fashion forward toddlers” dies quickly. If toddlers don’t have mud, dirt, paint, or marker on most of the clothes they don’t wear to church on Sunday then they’re doing childhood wrong and the parents are doing parenting wrong. Forgive me for being old fashioned but a flat brimmed hat and a shirt that says “SWAG” will be coming nowhere near my children. My only hope is that this trend dies off before I have kids so they won’t be picked on and put down for wearing normal clothes. One final thought, unless these kids are taking pictures of each other and picking out their own clothes, they aren’t the ones screaming “LOOK AT ME! LOOK AT ME!!!”

Leave a Reply

