God’s Not Dead

Tonight’s entry is a simple one. No catch phrases. No cheeky/catchy sayings. It’s simple. God’s. Not. Dead. For weeks I’ve been fixated on this trailer. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bMjo5f9eiX8#t=43 The name of this film? God’s Not Dead. Some memorable quotes from this trailer include “You prayed, and believed, your whole life; and here you are.” accompanied by a women seemingly in the last stages of her life. Another memorable quote is “Life, is really a tale told by an idiot, full of sound and fury and signifying nothing!” There are other quotes I’ll address soon but we should get started.

The antagonist for this movie is Professor Raddisson. The first clip of him in a lecture hall that we see progresses like this: I would like to bypass all senseless debate altogether and jump to the conclusion that every sophomore is already aware of; there is no God. All that I require from each of you, is that you fill in the paper’s I’ve just given you with 3 little words: God. Is. Dead. Alright hold up. Individuals are entitled to make whatever claims they wish. Say the Earth is flat, I’ll prove you wrong. Say that the Minnesota Vikings are going to win the Super Bowl this year. I’ll prove you wrong. I’m not inhibiting your right to express your opinion, I’m merely illustrating why you are wrong.  The portion of the trailer I’m going after here is the statement “I would like to bypass all senseless debate.” Honestly, no debate is senseless. Every incorrect opinion, no matter how radical or far-fetched, is worth consideration. The only outcome from considering opposing arguments is the strengthening of your own. There are 2 outcomes here. The opposing argument is incorrect; in which case you’ve strengthened your own opinion by refuting one that tries to refute your own and fails or; the opposing argument has some value and merit which allows you to discard weak points within your own viewpoint and exchange them for ones that are more correct.

I’ve often heard the phrase “I’m a Christian.” I’m not a fan of that saying. If asked outright I’ll say I’m a Christian but I won’t say so without a continuation statement. I am not content to label myself as a Christian. I will then continue on to say that “if I had to put a label on my faith, that I am an Evangelical Covenant Christian.” As such, I have 2 guiding “bylaws” if you will. The first; where is it written? If there isn’t biblical scripture pertaining to the topic at hand I will default to Utilitarianism. However; if the Bible does speak to the issue at hand, that guideline will take precedent. The second; How goes your walk with God? The Evangelical Covenant Church tends to focus on the relationships its practitioners have with God. Seeing as how I’m from Minnesota, which for those of you who don’t know, is not a big sharing community, it’s sometimes difficult for us to open up. We don’t want to admit our struggles. We don’t want to admit that we’re weak. Admitting our weaknesses and short comings happens to be a fairly significant part of the Evangelical Covenant community. At least the real part of it. I’m sure I’ll get into that in a future post.

This entry may end up being slightly (read: incredibly) more controversial than most of my posts. Usually I make cheap jokes and puns and try to gain views by catchy slogans or cheap phrases. Not this week. This is one of the… truest… posts I’ve had and I more than welcome anything you might have to say about it. Yes, I’m talking to anyone, positive or negative. I hope to hear from all of you soon.

Leave a Reply

